Schinderhannes Festival

In 1988 the local communtiy of Herrstein decided to arrange another market besides the other two traditional markets. This market is supposed to meet the standards of the historical town at German Gemstone Route's special flair.

This marked the birth of the Schinderhannes Festival which takes places on every second weekend of September and is famous even outside of the region.

More than 100 artists, craftsmen and farmers present their profession and offer their goods in the style of the time of Schinderhannes. They draw thousands of people to the scenic town, put life into the small alleys and carry you back to the good old days. The potters, toy makers, bookbinders, soap boilers, basket makers, shoe makers, dress makers, wood carver, glass blowers and many more historic professions are represented besides the farmers offering their fragrant wood stove bread, cheese, homemade sausages, jam, honey, oils, juices and fruit, smoked fish, potatoes, vegetables and juicy fruits to enchant the visitors with the plenty of nature.

In between them there are minstrels, buffoons, imposters and fire eaters entertaining you with chant and various tricks throughout the 2 days of the market. The Schinderhannes and his brigand band, who gave the market its name, will also entertain the crowd with adventurous tales from his life staged with music and acted scenes.

Especially children love the festival, because they get the chance to shoot with bows and arrows, forge silver and knives, learn how to felt something and discover many puppeteers all over the place.

Even witches and magicians are walking abroad inside the old alleys and buildings. Visiting the dungeon in which Schinderhannes was imprisoned at night with torches and a huge fire spectacle on the market place are the highlights of the festival.

Comfortable taverns offer knight spits, Sauzipfel (local dish), cream flat bread, sausages, wine and other local specialities for relaxing evenings.

People from far and wide come to Herrstein to see this „most beautiful market in Rhineland Palatinate“ the Schinderhannes Festival has become.

Information at www.kuenstlerdorf-herrstein.de or at the market administration (Phone: 06785-7534)

more...

Schinderhannes Räuberfest

1988 entschloss sich die Ortsgemeinde Herrstein, neben den beiden traditionellen Märkten, noch einen dritten Markt abzuhalten. Dieser sollte dem besonderen Flair des Historischen Ortskerns an der Deutschen Edelsteinstraße gerecht werden.

Das war die Geburtsstunde des inzwischen weit über die Region hinaus bekannten "Schinderhannes-Räuberfest", das an jedem 2. Wochenende im September stattfindet.

Über 100 Künstler-Handwerker und Bauern zeigen ihr Handwerk und bieten ihre Waren im Stil von damals feil. Sie locken tausende von Menschen in das malerische Örtchen, füllen die Gassen mit buntem Leben und versetzen zurück in die gute, alte Zeit. Die Töpfer, Spielzeugmacher, Buchbinder, Seifensieder, Korbflechter, Schuhmacher, Gewandschneider, Holzschnitzer, Glasbläser und viele andere alte Handwerkskunst einerseits und die Bauern mit duftendem Holzofenbrot, Käse, Hausmacher Wurst, Marmeladen, Honig, Ölen, Säften und Obst, geräucherten Fischen, Kartoffeln, Gemüse und saftigem Obst verzaubern die Besucher mit der Fülle der Natur.

Dazwischen verbreiten Spielleute, Possenreißer, Gaukler und Feuerkünstler mit Gesang und allerlei Kunststücken 2 Tage lang Heiterkeit und gute Laune. Der Schinderhannes mit seiner Bande, der dem Markt seinen Namen gab, bereitet mit Geschichten aus seinem abenteuerlichen Leben, die er musikalisch und in gespielten Szenen darbietet, jung und alt viel Vergnügen.

Kinder lieben den Markt besonders, da Bogenschiessen, Silber und Messer schmieden, Filzen lernen, Puppenspieler und Theater an allen Ecken locken.

Auch Hexen und Zauberer treiben ihr Unwesen in den alten Gassen und Gemäuern. Das Verlies, in dem der Schinderhannes gefangen lag, bei Nacht mit Fackeln zu bestaunen, und ein riesiges Feuerspektakel auf dem Marktplatz bildet dann den Höhepunkt des Festes.

In gemütlichen Tavernen laden Ritterspieße, Sauzipfel, Rahmfladen, Minnesängerwurst und viel Reben- und Gerstensaft zum gemütlichen Verweilen ein.

Von nah und fern kommen die Menschen, um dieses als "schönster Markt in Rheinland-Pfalz" berühmt gewordene Schinderhannes- Räuberfest zu besuchen.

Info unter www.kuenstlerdorf-herrstein.de oder bei der Marktleitung Tel: 06785-7534

Einladung Schinderhannes Räuberfest 2016
weiter...