Museum of local history

At the edge of the historical centre of town, which invites you with its numerous beautifully restored half-timbered houses built between 1600 and 1800 to do a medievally inspired stroll through the town, you will find the school, which was built in 1848/49.

Today it serves as the museum of local history of Herrstein, including a collection connected to the town's history. The exhibition in the basement informs you about geology and ancient history of the area around Herrstein.
Here you will also find the former bakehouse, which is still fully functional. Until the 1950's the citizens of the village used to bake their own bread. The order of the different families using it was chosen by drawing a lot and was then mandatory.

While in other villages in the area most farms had their own bakehouse, this municipal way of having a communal bakehouse differs from the customary traditions. The reason for this is the town's centre being rather small, creating a dangerous fire hazard.

Today the old bakehouse (lovingly called „Backes“ by the locals) remains in a fully functional condition and has been added to the museum, along with all necessary equipment. Every year, at the St. Martin's Market in the beginning of November, it gets reactivated.

The fireclay bricks are heated up by a strong brushwood fire and then the bread (the original „Hunsrücker Bauernbrot“, a farmhouse bread) made out of sour dough will be baked in the traditional way.

Inside the other rooms of the „old French school“ you will find out about the history of Herrstein through original exhibition pieces, photographs, postcards and official documents. The exhibition provides a clear overview of the historical development of the place.

The biggest room of the small museum serves as space to show many details of private and commercial life of the past. Besides many exhibition pieces out of the household and agricultural life, that reflect typical things of the Hunsrück region, it is the different craftman's trades and their equipment, material and type of application that are exhibited here. In small niches, different professions like blacksmithing, construction work and shoemaking are represented. Also important in the former Herrstein were textile manufacturing (weaving) and leather manufacturing (tannery). Brewing beer was another significant factor of the local economy, but today there isn't any brewery there anymore. Same goes with the professions of ropemakers, tobacco spinners and pipe makers. Only the objects inside the museum remind us today that these were once very present in Herrstein.

The museum of local history is opened May to November on Sundays 2 pm – 5 pm and can also be visited as part of tours through the historical centre of town.

Das Heimatmuseum

Am Rande des historischen Ortskerns, der mit seinen zahlreichen wunderschön restaurierten Fachwerkhäusern aus der Zeit zwischen 1600 und 1800 zu einem mittelalterlich inspirierten Stadtbummel einlädt, erhebt sich das 1848/49 errichtete Schulhaus. 

Heute beherbergt es das Heimatmuseum der Gemeinde Herrstein mit seiner Sammlung zur Ortsgeschichte. So informiert die Ausstellung im Untergeschoss über die Geologie und die Ur- und Frühgeschichte im Herrsteiner Raum.

Hier ist auch das frühere Backhaus untergebracht, das noch voll funktionsfähig ist. Bis in die fünfziger Jahre dieses Jahrhunderts haben die Dorfbewohner hier noch ihr eigenes Brot gebacken. Die Reihenfolge der verschiedenen Familien wurde mit dem Los ermittelt und verbindlich festgelegt.

Während in den umliegenden Gemeinden einzelne Bauernhöfe in aller Regel ihr jeweils eigenes Backhaus besaßen, weicht diese kommunale Variante der gemeinsamen Backstube vom Landesüblichen ab. Der Grund dafür lag in der räumlichen Enge des Ortskerns und der dadurch vorhandenen erhöhten Brandgefahr.

Heute ist das alte Backhaus, von den Dorfbewohnern liebevoll "Backes" genannt, in einem voll funktionsfähigen Zustand und mit sämtlichen zu seinem Betrieb erforderlichen Gerätschaften dem Museum angegliedert. Alljährlich zum Martinimarkt Anfang November wird es wieder in Betrieb genommen. 

Die Schamottsteine werden mit einem kräftigen Reisigfeuer aufgeheizt und anschließend wird auf traditionelle Art und Weise aus Sauerteig das "Original Hunsrücker Bauernbrot" gebacken.

In den anderen Räumen der "alten französischen Schule" drängt sich in Gestalt originaler Ausstellungsstücke, Fotos, Karten und Urkunden die Herrsteiner Geschichte auf knappen Raum. Die Sammlung ermöglicht einen recht klaren Überblick der historischen Entwicklung des alten Amtsortes.

Der größte Raum des kleinen Museums dient der anschaulichen Wiedergabe von vielen Einzelheiten des privaten und gewerblichen Lebens der Vergangenheit. Neben vielen Ausstellungsstücken aus dem häuslichen und dem landwirtschaftlichen Bereich, die manch Typisches aus der Hunsrückregion wiederspiegeln, sind es vor allem die verschiedenen Handwerksberufe, deren Werkzeuge, Materialien und Anwendungs- bzw. Verarbeitungsweisen hier gesammelt und dargestellt worden sind. Dargestellt werden in kleinen Nischen die Berufe aus dem Bauwesen, die Schmiede und die Schuhmacher. Wichtig waren früher in Herrstein auch die Textilverarbeitung (Weberei) und die Herstellung von Leder (Gerberei). Auch die Bierbrauer waren einst ein erheblicher Faktor im örtlichen Wirtschaftsleben; heute gibt es hier keine einzige Brauerei mehr. Desgleichen erinnern nur noch die musealen Objekte daran, dass Seiler, Tabakspinner und Pfeiffenrohrdreher in Herrstein tätig gewesen sind.

Das Heimatmuseum ist ab Mai bis November  Sonntags von 14.00 - 17.00 Uhr sowie im Rahmen von Führungen durch den Historischen Ortskern zu besichtigen.